View Full Version : character concept question
11-13-02, 10:41 AM
Ok, playing a D&D 3rd ed campaign and we're starting a new one at lvl 15 because we want to try out the new epic level things and see how they work out for us. I had an idea for a Drow rog/shadowdancer and was wondering if it would work or if there was a concept/rule somewhere i'm missing. Since shadow dancers can shadow jump from shadow to shadow does a drow's darkness spell count as a shadow that they can jump from/to?
Also I'd like to combine this with spring attack to be able to shadow jump in strike and jump back out through the same shadow. As a spell like ability can something like that generally be done since spring attack allows movement both before and after the attack? And last question, is poison use a feat that anyone can take or is it specific to some classes like assassin?
If all 3 are doable it seems I would have a very effective assassin
P.S. thanks for any help, wanted to get an idea if this was feasable before alloting the 37 billion skill points stats etc
11-14-02, 04:55 AM
You'd be better off talking to your GM and seeing what he (or she) thinks.
Even if it is feasible within the 3E rules, the GM may not want it in their game, as it could be a tad overpowering, depending on exactly how far spring attack works from (do you get a half move before, an attack, and a half move after, all before others can do anything (especially if they're suprised)), how big are the shadows needed for using the shadowdancer ability, and how far apart can they be, that kinda thing.
And if your GM allows it, will your party be facing foes who have similar rules stretching constructions?
Your wizard (or you) wont be too happy when someone springs out of an empty shadow, plants a poison dagger in their back, and springs away to who knows where before any action can be taken against them.
11-15-02, 01:50 PM
One note, spring attack is a full round action. You could not use the spell like ability then spring attack, unless you had haste or something else to grant you a partial action. Also, the Epic handbook is HUGE. I just bought it the other night and I have seen some awesome feet (monks getting vorpal fists anyone?) and spells. It is almost a completely different game then whats out of the PHB.
11-21-02, 02:00 PM
As a GM, I've had rogue shadowdancers shadowjump using their own darkness spells.
Also, any character can use poisons. But there is a 5% change of poisoning yourself when you apply it. Assassins do not have this risk. Edited by: Ravenwinged Angel at: 11/21/02 4:01:53 pm
11-22-02, 04:23 PM
Blackguards don't have to worry about the 5% accidental poisoning either...
11-26-02, 09:43 AM
I talked to my DM about it and he said I could do it but I elected not to because I didn't want that done to my group's mage. I made a 10th level thief acrobat and am now annoying him by passing insane jump/balance/tumble checks. I managed to tie up a colossal skeleton last session to the point that it couldn't move at all in 2 rounds.
11-26-02, 09:50 AM
Here's the problem with trying to use shadowjump and attack. Shadowjump works exactly like the dimension door spell, if you read dimension door, it states that you cannot perform any other actions after stepping through the "door". It sucks, I know...I played a rogue7/fighter2/shadowdancer9 for a long time. Shadowdancers do, however, make the best infiltrator/scout characters in the whole game (without depending on spells of course). Hope everything works out for you and I am probably posting to a very old thread but hey :)
Lloric Blackpyre - 55 Defliler
Zareleth Shadowheart - 48 Shadowknight
11-27-02, 01:35 PM
Quote:awesome feet (monks getting vorpal fists anyone?)
Nice pun, though it was probably unintentional.
Even though fists aren't feet, so can't be used for that feat.
Korkin Nimbleblade - Halfling Rogue
Outta Mana - Gnome Warrior
Tindi'Losi - firstname.lastname@example.org
"So do I feel superior to any druid-twinked post-Kunark still-sucking-at-his-mother's-teat rogue? You better believe I do!!" - Delissandra Splitshadow
12-27-02, 11:19 AM
The feat is actually Vorpal Strike, I think it technically can be used by any body part. Vorpal Head Butt!! Hehe.
I vaguely remember that shadowdancers special abilities couldn't use their own shadow. If it were me DMing I'd have to say that the racial darkness ability falls into that same category of self-generated darkness.
Also had one GM who's interpretation was that all the special abilities requiring shadow didn't work in total darkness, as it was impossible to cast a shadow with no light source. - Nymm
Prexus, Assassin, 1 ea.
12-27-02, 03:20 PM
Bah, who ever dug this thread up is going to get a vorpal boot up their arse =p I always mispell feat as feet. It's like mixing up there, their, and they're.